On behalf of the Microscopy Society of Argentina (SAMIC) we are pleased to invite you to the 4th Argentine Microscopy Congress SAMIC 2016. The Congress will be held from April 6 to 8 at Institute Balseiro´s facilities, within Centro Atómico Bariloche in the city of San Carlos de Bariloche.

This series of Congresses started with CIASEM Congress at Rosario in October 2009 and continued at Buenos Aires (2012) and Mendoza (2014).

We encourage presentation of research results involving microscopy and associated spectroscopic techniques that include scanning (SEM) and transmission (TEM) electron microscopy, scanning probe microscopies (SPMs), covering atomic force (AFM), scanning tunneling (STM) and magnetic force (MFM) microscopies, as well as optical microscopy.



General Overview

Traditionally, applications of the different microscopy techniques in the fields of Life Sciences and Materials Science are presented in this Congress.
The presentation format will be a two page extended abstract, following the current International Microscopy Congress style. Detailed format and submission details will be described within the 2nd flyer.





Materials Science

  • Nanostructured Materials
  • Metallic Alloys
  • Ceramics and Oxides
  • Catalysts
  • Thin Films and surfaces
  • Coatings
  • Other applications (forensic, cultural, etc.)
  • Instrumentation and analysis

Life Sciences

  • Structure and Function of Cells and Organels
  • Macromolecules - Location and Structure
  • Microbiology and Virology
  • Invertebrates and Parasitology
  • Botany and Mycology
  • Physiology and Pathology
  • Embryology and Developmental Biology
  • Neuroscience
  • Human Health



Important Dates

August 2015 First flyer
October 2015 Second flyer
1 December 2015 - 29 February 2016 Pre-Congress Courses Registration
11 December 2015 - 21 December 2015 NEW deadline for extended abstract submission
05 February 2016 - 12 February 2016 Extended Abstract Approval
10 February 2016 - 19 February 2016 Early Registration Deadline
28 March 2016 Registration Deadline


Scientific Committee

Iris Alvarez (IFIR, UN Rosario)
Silvia Belmonte (CONICET - IHEM, FCM UN Cuyo)
Alicia Brusco (LANAIS MIE UBA-CONICET, FM, Buenos Aires)
Alberto Caneiro (CNEA - CAB),
Susana Jurado (CONICET - Servicio Central ME UN La Plata)
Patricia Leonardi (CONICET - UNS)
Francisco Lovey (CNEA - CAB)
Luis Mayorga (CONICET - IHEM, FCM UN Cuyo)
Alfonsina Morales (CONICET - IHEM-UN Cuyo)
Sergio Moreno (CONICET - CAB),
Estaban Sánchez (CONICET - CAB,
Patricia Sarmiento (CONICET - Servicio MEB UN La Plata)
Manuel Siñeriz (CONICET - CIME, Tucumán)
Martín Sirena (CONICET - CAB)
Alfredo Tolley (CNEA - CAB)
Alicia Inés Torres (CONICET - INICSA - UN Córdoba)

Organizing Committee

Alberto Baruj (CONICET - CAB)
Patricia Bozzano (CNEA - CAC)
Alejandro Butera (CONICET - CAB)
Victoria Castro Riglos (CONICET - CAB)
Adriana Condó (CONICET - CAB)
Adriana Domínguez (CNEA - CAC)
Marcelo Esquivel (CNEA- CAB)
Adriano Geraci (CNEA – CAB)
Adriana Serquis (CONICET - CAB)
Mora Soldati (CONICET - CAB)
Raúl Versaci (CNEA - CAC)
Eugenia Zelaya (CONICET - CAB)



In case you have any questions you can contact us at: samic2016@cab.cnea.gov.ar

links.jpg (26741 bytes)